Andhra Pradesh


The first historical records appear in the Buddhist text Anguttara Nikaya, when what is now the Nizamabad and Adilabad districts of the Telangana region constituted parts of the Assaka Mahajanapada (700300 BC). An Andhra tribe was mentioned in the Sanskrit epics such as Aitareya Brahmana (800 BC) and Mahabharata (400 BC). The Natya Shastra written by Bharata (1st century BC) also mentions about the Andhra people. The first Telugu poet Nannayya (Adi Kavi) from Rajahmundry gave Telugu script which has made a perfect language This is probably due to the fact that the Telugu language originated here, though the Telugu language traces found to be around 2,400 years old from here.

Established: 1 November 1956 Chief Minister: Sri. Nara Chandra Babu Naidu
Capital: Amaravati Website:
Districts: 13 Total    
Government Government of Andhra Pradesh    


The climate of Andhra Pradesh varies considerably, depending on the geographical region. Monsoons play a major role in determining the climate of the state. Summers last from March to June. In the coastal plain, the summer temperatures are generally higher than the rest of the state, with temperature ranging between 20 C and 41 C.


Andhra Pradesh is the home of many religious pilgrim centres. Tirumala Venkateswara Temple in Tirupati is according to believers the abode of Hindu god "Venkateswara" Venkateswara. "Srisailam" Srisailam, nestled in the "Nallamala Hills" Nallamala Hills is the abode of "Jyotirlinga" Jyothirlingas in India. Amaravati's Shiva temple is one of the Pancharamams, as is Yadagirigutta, the abode of an avatara of Vishnu, Lakshmi Narasimha. The Ramappa temple and Thousand Pillars temple in Warangal are famous for their temple carvings. Visit our Tourism website to know more about andhra tourism and cultures.


Andhra Pradesh lies between 12o41' and 22o longitude and 77o and 84o40' latitude. It is bounded by Madhya Pradesh and Orissa in the north, the Bay of Bengal in the east, Tamil Nadu and Karnataka in the south and Maharashtra in the west. Andhra Pradesh is the fifth largest state in India and it forms the major link between the north and the south of India. It is the biggest and most populous state in the south of India.

There are three main regions in Andhra Pradesh - (1) Northern Circars or coastal Andhra comprising Srikakulam, Visakhapatnam, East Godavari, West Godavari, Krishna, Guntur, Ongole and Nellore districts; (2) Rayalaseema or Ceded districts comprising Kurnool, Cuddapah, Chittoor and Anantapur districts; and (3) Telangana comprising Khammam, Nalgonda, Warangal, Karimnagar, Medak, Nizamabad, Aadilabad, Mahbubnagar and Hyderabad districts. The Circars or Coastal districts are well developed and enjoy a greater degree of affluence than the other two regions; Rayalaseema is close to the coastal districts and here rainfall is less than in the coastal districts and drought conditions prevail sometimes, and the Telangana region is of the former princely state of Nizam's Hyderabad, which is close to Maharashtra's Marathwada region and some parts of Karnataka.

The state is dotted with hill ranges from the north to the south, running erratically down the middle of the country dividing it into western and eastern or coastal Andhra. These hills form integral geographical entities of Andhra life and history. In the north, there are Simhachalam and Annavaram hills, in the middle country there are the Srisailam hill ranges and in the south are the Tirumalai-Tirupati hills. The state has two great rivers, Godavari and Krishna which spring from the Western Ghats in Maharashtra and flow eastward and joins the Bay of Bengal. The Godavari enters the state of Andhra Pradesh direct from Maharashtra, but the Krishna first goes to Karnataka where it flows for a considerable distance before entering Andhra Pradesh. Besides these two big rivers, there are the Tungabhadra, the Pennar and many other small rivers and rivulets. Pennar originates in the Karnataka plateau. Like all the peninsular rivers and even those which arise in central India, like the Narmada, Sone and Chambal, all these are rain fed rivers as there is no snow below the Himalayas. Andhra Pradesh has considerable topographical variations with dense forest in the north east, flat paddy lands in the coastal plains, several noteworthy beaches along the Bay of Bengal and the stark boulder-strewn region around Hyderabad.

The major three divided regions in Andhra pradesh

Andhra Pradesh is divided into three regions- Telangana, Rayalaseema and Coastal Andhra. Telangana consists of the 10 districts of Hyderabad, Adilabad, Khammam, Karimnagar, Mahbubnagar, Medak, Nalgonda, Nizamabad, Rangareddy, and Warangal.

Rayalaseema comprises the 4 districts of Anantapur, Chittoor, Kadapa and Kurnool.

Coastal Andhra comprises the 9 districts of Srikakulam, Vizianagaram, Visakhapatnam, East Godavari, West Godavari, Krishna, Guntur, Prakasam and Nellore.


Rayalaseema (Telugu) is a geographic region in the state of Andhra Pradesh in India. It includes the southern districts of Anantapur, Chittoor, Kadapa and Kurnool. It has a total area of 67,299 km2. These Telugu speaking districts were part of Madras Presidency until 1953 when Telugu speaking districts of Madras Presidency were carved out to form Andhra state.[1] Between 1953 and 1956, this region was part of Andhra State. In 1956, Telangana region was merged with Andhra State to form Andhra Pradesh State.[2] The Rayalaseema was ruled by Sri Krishna Devaraya.

Rayalaseema was the original home of Eastern Chalukyas. They gradually extended their sway over Karnataka country because of the pressure from Cholas kings. Although Rayalaseema is a small region compared to the rest of Telugu speaking regions, its contribution to Telugu, Tamil, Urdu, arts, culture and literature is immense.


Coastal Andhra or Kosta, is a region of India's Andhra Pradesh State. This region was part of Madras State before 1953 and Andhra State from 1953 to 1956. According to the 2011 census, it has an area of 92,906 square kilometres (35,871 sq mi) and a population of 34,193,868. This area includes the coastal districts of Andhra Pradesh between the Eastern Ghats and the Bay of Bengal, from the northern border with Orissa to south of the delta of the Krishna River.

It includes the districts of Srikakulam, Vizianagaram, Visakhapatnam, East Godavari, West Godavari, Krishna, Guntur, Prakasam and Nellore. Coastal Andhra has rich agricultural land, owing to the delta of the Godavari and Krishna rivers. The prosperity of Coastal Andhra can be attributed to its rich agricultural land and an abundant water supply from these two rivers. Rice grown in paddy fields is the main crop, with pulses and coconuts also being important.